• Facebook
  • Twitter

Women's Museum of California

Preserving the Past, Inspiring the Future
17th Annual San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Reception

17th Annual San Diego County Women's Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Reception

Five San Diego women will be honored at the 17th Annual Women's Hall of Fame in March of 2018.  Nominations are currently being accepted at the Women's Museum by mail or email.    

Ruth Heifetz

Ruth Heifetz

Ruth M. Heifetz, M.D., M.P.H.,(UCSD School of Medicine), physician and humanitarian, she was a founding member of both the San Diego Chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility and the San Diego Environmental Health Coalition (1980). Heifetz has been a trailblazer of environmental justice, and as such as fought tirelessly for the health of women and children exposed to toxic materials in their communities and workplace. She exemplifies outstanding leadership, has made significant contributions to our community's health, and is highly committed to occupational and environmental health and safety. She has taught these issues to generations of medical students.

Her humanitarian accomplishments encompass three main themes: protection of workers, protection of the environment and the prevention of nuclear war. Dr. Heifetz was founding member of the Environmental Health Coalition, has served on the Lead Prevention Task Force for San Diego, and is the main scientific advisor responding to numerous problems of toxic exposure in our community. Her career reflects a lifetime commitment to preventive health, and she has always been on call to help prevent impending environmental disasters. She does so with a gentle, informed and persistent approach. Ruth Heifetz provides a superb role model for others wanting to devote their careers to protecting the lives of workers and the population from occupational and environmental causes of disease. She continues her work today and believes that we, as individuals and together, make a difference.

Ruth Heifez, San Diego Women's Hall of Fame, 2005